Today’s Top 5 TV Picks – Monday December 31

Today’s Top 5 Picks – Have a Happy & Safe New Years!


Street Outlaws

7 p.m. ET on DISCV

“Street Outlaws” fan favorites AZN and Farmtruck are featured, along with NASCAR Champion Joey Logano, in this one-hour pre-show, which immediately is followed by the two-hour main event, as 32 of the fastest male and female racers in the country rev up their engines to compete at the iconic Bristol Motor Speedway in Tennessee. Big money and bragging rights alike are at stake in this race, but a significant rainfall descends on race night, forcing the drivers to change their race strategy at the last minute.


Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve With Ryan Seacrest 2019

8 p.m. ET on ABC

For his 13th year, Ryan Seacrest is in New York’s party epicenter, Times Square, to host the primetime coverage of festivities and the midnight countdown, with Christina Aguilera headlining the night’s musical performers. Also in Manhattan, Jenny McCarthy will file reports among the party-goers in the streets. Elsewhere, actress Lucy Hale is back in New Orleans for the third time to host Central Time Zone coverage of how the Big Easy celebrates, including the dropping of a giant fleur-de-lis. Music superstar Ciara hosts West Coast coverage as the night progresses.


Fox’s New Year’s Eve With Steve Harvey: Live From Times Square

8 p.m. ET on FOX

Emmy-winning TV personality Maria Menounos joins Steve Harvey for the network’s second annual live broadcast special from the traditional heart of New Year’s Eve “party central,” Times Square in Manhattan. The three-and-a-half-hour bash — which starts in prime time, then resumes as the midnight ball-dropping approaches — also features a musical perforrmance by Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Sting, as well as appearances by Florence + the Machine, Jason Aldean, Juanes and Why Don’t We. Ken Jeong and Kenan Thompson also appear.


NBC’s New Year’s Eve

10 p.m. ET on NBC

Carson Daly returns to host this year’s New Year’s Eve festivities in New York’s Times Square, which opens with an hour in primetime, then picks up the action as the time approaches the midnight dropping of the ball. Keith Urban, meanwhile, will perform and host from Nashville’s Bicentennial State Park during part of the coverage. Joining Daly in New York will be Leslie Jones (“Saturday Night Live”) and Chrissy Teigen. Other performers include Diana Ross, Kelly Clarkson and John Legend.


ACL Hall of Fame New Year’s Special

10:30 p.m. ET on PBS

If you're looking for a New Year's Eve change of pace, this one-hour special -- drawn from a feel-good gala this past October -- highlights the induction of a new group of honorees into the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame. This fifth edition of the event spotlights inductees Ray Charles, Marcia Ball and Los Lobos. Special guests include Norah Jones, Irma Thomas and Boz Scaggs, with host Chris Isaak.

Tell us what you think

Notify of

Pin It on Pinterest