Kurt Warner heads 2017 Hall of Fame class

Kurt Warner

Quarterback Kurt Warner is among those to be inducted in the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the enshrinement ceremony airs Saturday, Aug. 5 on ESPN. The Hall of Fame has mixed things up a bit this year, having the annual Hall of Fame Game played prior to the ceremony rather than after. One of Warner’s former teams, the Arizona Cardinals, face the Dallas Cowboys in that exhibition game that airs Thursday, Aug. 3, which will air on NBC.

Warner burst on the scene in 1999 as a back-up quarterback with the then St. Louis Rams, playing behind starter Trent Green. Green went down with an injury during the pre-season, and Warner took over and led what became one of most productive offenses in NFL history. The Rams won the Super Bowl that year and nearly won another following the 2001 season. Warner spent a year with the New York Giants before moving on to the Cardinals, where he played in another Super Bowl after the 2008 season.

Joining Warner in the Hall of Fame will be running back Terrell Davis, who won two Super Bowls with the Denver Broncos. Also being inducted are the following: kicker Morten Anderson; safety Kenny Easley; defensive end Jason Taylor; running back LaDainian Tomlinson; and Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, who has three Super Bowl rings as an owner with the Cowboys.

Overall, this is a solid class of inductees who deserve to have their legacies cemented in sports history.

Kurtis Eugene Warner

Born: June 22, 1971

Birthplace: Burlington, Iowa

Height/Weight: 6 foot 2 inches/214 pounds

Teams: St. Louis Rams, 1998–2003; New York Giants, 2004; Arizona Cardinals, 2005–2009

Position: Quarterback

Honors and Achievements: Super Bowl XXXIV champion and MVP, 1999; Pro Bowl, 1999–2001, 2008; NFL MVP, 1999, 2001; Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year, 2008

Dan Ladd

Dan Ladd

Dan Ladd is a freelance sports writer who works out of Gracenote’s Queensbury, NY office.

dladd has 255 posts and counting.See all posts by dladd

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This